" />

Meeting Minutes 14 May 2024

  1. The Shipmates monthly meeting of FRA Branch 208, Camp Lejeune, NC was called to order at 1830 on 14 May 2024 by Shipmate President Raymond Applewhite. The regular meeting was waived for the installation of newly elected/appointed officers for 2024-2025.
  2. The Pledge of Allegiance, Opening Prayer and Preamble to the FRA Constitution were recited by all present.
  3. The following Shipmates were present: Luis Alers – Chairman of the Board
    Raymond Applewhite – President
    Donald Broussard
    John Caskey
    Al Ferrell
    Gerald Gray
    James Hill – Treasurer
    Paul Levesque
    Michael Maddox
    Tim Manchester – Webmaster
    Paul H. Miethker – Secretary
    Alexander Nevgloski – Chaplain
    John Rooney
    Mike Rooney
    Terry Scott

The following guests were present:

  Cornelius Docier
  2. The minutes of the 9 April 2024 meeting were accepted.
    Approved pending audit

a. S/M Secretary Miethker indicated the Branch received the following:

(1) List of paid S/M’s for Apr 24 from National HQ.

       (2)  List of deceased S/M’s for Apr from National HQ

(3) Letter from the Salvation Army requesting a monetary donation.

(4) Letter from Special Olympics, North Carolina requesting a monetary donation.

(5) Refund check from Jones Onslow Electric.

  1. OLD BUSINESS a. The Branch, Coffee-With-A-Cop Program will continue with the Branch bringing refreshments and coffee to the various police stations selected.

b. The Branch appreciation letter for the MCB Commissary and the State Veterans Cemetery
will be presented soon. We are waiting to hear back from the commissary on a good day to present the letter.

c. The Quarterly Road-Side-Cleanup will be scheduled for May 2024.

d. S/M Secretary Miethker will order the new polo shirts.


a. S//M Secretary Miethker brought up the numerous requests for monetary donations.
The Branch voted not to donate.

b. S/M President Applewhite reported on S/M’s that are ill.

c. The Branch voted to pay the bill from National HQ for $ 590.00.

d. The Branch installed the following elected/appointed Officers for 2024 – 2025:

President – Raymond Applewhite
Chairman of the Board – Luis Alers
Secretary – Paul H. Miethker
Treasurer – James Hill
Chaplain – Alexander Nevgloski
Public Affairs – Timothy Manchester
Sergeant at Arms – Gerald Grey


a. First Saturday of the Month: Reading of the North Carolina POW/MIA Names, Vietnam
Memorial, Lejeune Memorial Gardens @ 1200.

b. The Carolina Museum of the Marines groundbreaking 17 May 24, @ 0830.

  2. There being no further business, a motion was made to adjourn. The Closing Prayer was recited, and honors rendered to the American Flag. The meeting was adjourned at 1930. The next meeting will be held on 11 June 2024 at 1830 at the Jacksonville Golden Corral. Paul H. Miethker Shipmate Secretary